April Wrap-up and May TBR!

HOW IS IT ALREADY MAY?

I AM BAFFLED. 

Ok, so yes, it’s May which means so many things are happening. First, IM GRADUATING FROM UNI. I finished up my last paper of my college career earlier today and I could not be happier and more excited for the next chapter of my life to begin. I’m also turning 22 soon (May 21) which is exciting since that’s the day of my graduation. And then I’m off to Europe for 34 days with a few friends until July! Like I said, there’s so much going on! Since I finally have the time to blog, I’ll be posting a lot over the next few weeks before Europe so expect lots of fun things and SHOUTY CAPITALS!

Anyway, let’s get into the books I read in April!

1. The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski – 3.5/5*

WOW. SO MUCH ANGST. SO FRUSTRATING. Okay, so I have a hate/love relationships with these books. This is the second in the series and I liked it about the same as the first book (The Winner’s Curse). Our two MC’s have so many secrets and angst it hurts. I wanted more Kestrel/Arin scenes because I LOVE THEM. I’m excited to read the third I know it’s going to be an emotional journey.

2. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor- 4.5/5*

Ok, so I was anticipating this book after all the hype in the bookish community. I bought the UK hardback edition because it was absolutely gorgeous and had to have it. I really enjoyed the book and definitely understand the hype surrounding Laini Taylor’s writing. It was kind of hard for me to get into because of how detailed she writes but I found myself obsessed with the story. It definitely wasn’t an easy read as some books are but it’s well-worth the time!

3. Geekerella by Ashley Poston- 3.5/5*

So, I picked this book up for a few reasons. First, I LOVE the cover. It’s so fun and looks great on my shelf. Second, I was so interested in reading this nerdy take on a Cinderella retelling. While I had a few problems with the story, I really enjoyed reading it and can’t wait to read more by Ashley Poston!

4/5. Avatar the Last Airbender: The Search Part 2 and 3- 5/5*

YES. SO MUCH YES. I absolutely LOVE ATLA. I’ve rewatched the show like 4 times all the way through and I’ve been dying to read the comics. IM SO HAPPY ZUKO FINALLY FOUND HIS MOTHER. MY POOR EMO BBY.

aprilwrapup

May TBR:

1. A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas- 4/5*

ARE YOU SURPRISED. Ok, so I already read this (in like 9 hours) but I’m still including it in my May TBR since it released May 2. I have a lot of thoughts about ACOWAR and even more emotions. I’m debating making a review for it on the blog if people are interested in reading that so let me know down below!

2. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

This is going to be a hard one for me. I picked Nevernight up a few months ago but couldn’t get through the first 50 pages. It was SO SO SO CONFUSING. I want to give it another try because I have heard a lot of good things about this.

3. The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan

I’ve been really missing some middle grade and could use a good pick-me-up after the emotional roller coaster that was ACOWAR. I haven’t read this one yet and the second book in the series was just released so what better timing?

4. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

IM SO EXCITED FOR THIS. I don’t want to go into it knowing too much but I’m fairly certain we have an LGBTQ+ MC as well as a MC with autism. That’s enough for me to want to pick this book up!

5. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Ok, I’m probably the worst Victoria Schwab fan since I haven’t yet read TSS or Vicious. Obviously, I need to fix this since Our Dark Duet is coming out soon!

6. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

OK. We all know I have weird feelings about Cassie Clare and TMI series. Lord of Shadows is coming out this month so I decided that I need to give LM another try. I know a lot of people like LM a lot more than TMI and said that they found it to be much better. I wanted to finish reading this one to see if it lives up to the hype!

maytbr

So, I think that’s it for my May TBR. I’m not entirely sure if I will actually read all of the books on this list or any at all but I like to type these out just so I can have some idea of where to start!

Have you guys read any of the books mentioned above? Would you be interested in an ACOWAR review post?? Let me know!

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 1.10.37 PM

7 thoughts on “April Wrap-up and May TBR!

  1. I haven’t read Lady Midnight either – I think for me its because I’ve not read Cassandra Clare book for the best part of two years – the size is daunting me! I might I have ease myself into The Bane Chronicles…

    Like

    1. It’s been that long since I’ve read a Cassie Clare book too! I wanted to reread TMI or TID but I’m not THAT into doing it especially when I already have so many other books on my TBR. I also shamefully havent read the last book in TMI series and I don’t really feel like it so I’m just going into Lady Midnight kind of blind *shrugs*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

