[Tag] Bookish Courtship!

I know I’m like two weeks late, DON’T HATE ME. I’m graduating from uni in about a month so I’ve had a crazy amount of work on top of trying to find a job and a new apartment…

(me)

So I was tagged by the wonderful Monique @ Thatwildsoul for the Bookish Courtship tag! I’m super excited to do this tag so let’s get right to it!

 Phase 1: Initial attraction: a book that you bought because of the cover

I’m not sure if this counts since I haven’t bought the book yet, but Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman. I LOVE THIS COVER. This is like aesthetic gold for me, I’m obsessed. 

Phase 2: First impressions: a book that you got because of the summary

I think for this one I’m going to go with The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I have a good friend who was obsessed with TRC but never picked the books up until a few months ago. As soon as I read the synopsis of The Raven Boys I knew it was going to be a really fun story full of laughter and feels, and I wasn’t wrong!

Phase 3: Sweet talk: a book with great writing

I absolutely LOVE Victoria Schwab’s writing in the shades of magic series. A Conjuring of Light was my favorite in the series and has been one of my favorite books of 2017 so far. She just has a really beautiful way of writing that’s witty and poetic. It makes reading her books so much fun! She’s literally the same on twitter and in person and I absolutely adore her. 

Phase 4: First date: a first book of a series which made you want to pursue the rest of the series

Most first books are at least interesting enough to make me read the rest of the series. I feel like if they aren’t I usually DNF them instead of forcing myself to finish. I am a sucker for trashy YA series and I recently read Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout which is the first in The Lux series. These books are like crack, I literally downloaded the second book immediately after finishing Obsidian. I read both books in two days, it was magical. I haven’t finished the entire series but I’m reading the third book now!

Phase 5: Late night phone call: a book that kept you up all night long

I want to say Unravel Me and Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi for this one because I read both of these books in less than two days. Seriously, I binged this series like nobody’s business. I was about 1/4 of the way through Unravel me and spent 6 hours straight in bed reading until I finished UM and read half of Ignite Me. I HAD TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED. JULIETTE. WARNER. WARNETTE IS EVERYTHING. KENJI IS MY CHILD. I LOVE THEM ALL SO MUCH. I want to do a reread of this soon but I’m afraid I’ll get too emotional as soon as I start. Stay tuned…

Phase 6: Always on my mind: a book that you could not stop thinking about

You guys can answer this one for me, I’m not even going to explain myself anymore. 

Phase 7: Getting physical: a book in which you love the way it feels

The only thing I can think of for this one is the UK edition of Strange the Dreamer. I absolutely loved this edition, so much more than the US version and ordered it on Book Depository immediately. I haven’t read it yet even though I’ve been dying to! The cover is one of those amazing super buttery dust jackets and the pages are sprayed blue. Basically, it’s a work of art.

Phase 8: Meeting the parents: a book you would recommend to your friends and family

This is weird because I feel like it depends if the person is a reader or not. Usually, I don’t recommend some of the more high fantasy/sci-fi books I read to family or friends if they don’t read too often because I feel like they are less inclined to finish the book. But some books I love so much and literally tell everyone to read so idk! I have given at least 5 friends my copies of the Throne of Glass series so I guess that would count for this one!  

Phase 9: Think about the future: a book series that you know you’ll re-read many times in the future 

ACOTAR without a doubt. I’ve already reread it 4 times since October. BYE WORLD

Phase 10: Share the love: who would you like to tag?

I’m tagging some of my lovely new followers. As always if you’ve done this tag before or don’t feel like doing it, no worries! I look forward to seeing all of your responses!

Thai @ Read.Breathe.Repeat 

Poulami @ Daydreaming Books

Amna @ Bookish Endeavers 

Abbie @ Cafe Book Bean 

And anyone else who wants to do the Bookish Courtship Tag!

This once was a lot of fun to do! I tried to limit my use of ACOMAF but I feel like I would just be lying if I said I didn’t think about this damn book 24/7. What did you guys think of my answers? Did you have similar thoughts? Let me know down below!

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 1.10.37 PM

3 thoughts on “[Tag] Bookish Courtship!

  1. When I saw the cover of Strange The Dreamer, I was like OMG WTF GIVE ME RIGHT NOW and then found out it was the UK edition and was sad because I needed the book in my hands immediately and REFUSED TO WAIT and I don’t like to buy multiple editions of books because I’m trying to be a responsible human. Also, I haven’t read ACOMAF yet *hides behind bookshelf* I’M GOING TO TRY TO DO IT BEFORE ACOWAR COMES OUT but yeah, school and finals and work is killing me. I am also Michael Scott.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. UGH GURL I FEEL YOU. School and life are absolutely KILLING me right now. The only thing getting me through is knowing ACOWAR comes out in 10 days and my trip to europe. For some reason I don’t like the US cover of Strange so I bought my UK one on book depository. It did take FOREVER to get here because it shipped from Australia I think?? IDK but it was SOO worth it. YOU HAVE 10 DAYS UNTIL ACOWAR SO YOU BETTER GET TO READING!

      Like

      1. I KNOW I NEED TO I HAVE ONE MORE WEEK OF FINAL EXAMS THEN ILL BE READING LIKE WILDFIRE. Also, I’m so jealous you’re going to Europe! But it’ll be a well-deserved trip considering you’re graduating! Congratulations 😛 I gotta finish Strange The Dreamer first before starting ACOMAF. It’s taken me all of this month to read and I’m finally at a point where I can ACTUALLY start to get into it! Silly nursing school.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

