Unpopular Bookish Opinions…

I’ve had this in tag in my drafts for so long and I’ve just been procrastinating (unsurprisingly) on actually doing it..

I saw this tag in a lot of booktube videos and thought it would be a fun one to blog! The original video can be found here and was posted by TheBookArcher

  1. A popular book or series that everyone seems to like but you.

bedc13378ba604449534791c5dbd7ed9The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. So this is definitely a controversial topic and I may lost some friends or followers over this (please don’t hate me!). I read 5/6 TMI books when Cassie first published them and I did enjoy them at first. However, I seriously struggled with the whole Clary/Jace sibling (INCEST) to lovers thing. I realize they were never actually siblings but it was just SO SO cringy for me to read and I felt almost dirty reading their story. When Sebastian was introduced in the series he literally almost raped his own sister. WHAT?! I was so horrified when I read that part, I had no idea what to think about the books. There’s some fucking WEIRD incestuous relationships in this series and I AM NOT OK WITH IT. Why are more people not talking about this? These are just some of the issues I’ve had with the content in the book. I’m not even going to talk about the other problems surrounding Cassandra Clare and plagiarizing which is a whole separate can of worms…

Now I’m going to sound super hypocritical here and say that I did LOVE The Infernal Devices books. My feelings on TID haven’t changed given how I feel about TMI so basically I’m just a hypocrite but probably so are you.

2. A book or series that everyone seems to hate but you love.

ebcd8c3a777bfdc2511d202948fdaceaI don’t think people necessarily hate this series but I think no one really knows about it. I started reading Sherrilyn Kenyon’s League series a few years ago and I was OBSESSED. They are the perfect trashy romance books but set in a super sci-fi type world. I literally know no one who has read these books but more people need to ASAP. Born of Night is the first one about the badass assassin Nykyrian who has a fucked up past (my FAVE trope). Every book in the series is about a different character but they’re all friends and set in the same universe.

3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you DID NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP you don’t likeScreen Shot 2017-04-08 at 9.57.42 PM

The biggest one I can think of was The Hunger Games. I HATE PEETA. I have always and will always hate Peeta with all of my heart. He is literally the worst character and can’t do anything for himself. I was recently watching Catching Fire and telling my roommate how dependent Peeta was on everyone around him and within 10 minutes he needed to be saved from drowning and was electrocuted and almost died from the invisible force field. What a fucking idiot. Seriously. I always shipped Katniss with Gale even after the shitshow that was Mockingjay. I HATED the ending of Mockingjay mainly because I couldn’t stand Katniss and Peeta being together. I stand by my feelings 110% Peeta sucks, fight me.

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach forhttp-mashable.comwp-contentgallery21-books-for-those-so-over-dystopiato-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before10bf16b1f7308f091d5d3c76ca2d987e

I’m going to have to go with contemporaries for this one. I very rarely read contemporary YA fiction. I really can’t think of any within the past year that I’ve even read. I have Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell on my TBR and I read the first 30 pages or so but didn’t have a burning desire to continue. I know a lot of people really love this books and I definitely want to pick it back up but I just couldn’t get into it at the time. Contemporaries are usually like that for me and I even struggle with NA and Adult romance-y books that are contemporary. When I’m reading I like to escape this world and travel to another, it’s why I prefer reading about fantasy lands and magic! I also struggle now to read stories about people who are younger than me. While I love YA and pretty much exclusively read these books, contemporary YA is usually set in high schools and such. I’m in my twenties so I just don’t have a desire to read about high school drama anymore.

5. A popular or beloved character that you don’t like

f911d0799fa40a7756874f592742801cSo I have a few characters that people seem to love that I didn’t really like. These aren’t exactly people I HATE but these few are just characters that I don’t particularly feel attached to. My top character being Peeta Mellark, of course,
from The Hunger Games. Second would probably be Ron Weasley from the Harry Potter series. I was never a huge fan of Ron and didn’t really see his purpose in the story aside from being Harry’s best friend. He’s very similar to Peeta for me in that I feel like they are just weak characters dependent on others to protect them. I strongly believe Hermoine was way too good for him. Other characters I hate that people love are from 0bdecadfb486eb80da151fbdb76361eamovies/TV because I (shamefully) haven’t read these series. And that’s Frodo Baggins from the Lord of the Rings and Jorah Mormont from Game of Thrones. I hate them both as characters and they annoy the shit out of me every time I watch them. THE END.

6. A popular author you can’t seem to get into

Can I say Jane Austen, because I hate everything I’ve read from her….

2e4c3d76d3d2c548e4f880e9115e2748LOL but I’m actually going to say John Green for this one. I think I may have tried reading Looking for Alaska at some point but I never finished it and I can’t even remember if I read past chapter 1. I have never had the desire to pick up any of his books like whatsover. I haven’t even seen The Fault in Our Stars movie or Paper Towns. It just doesn’t interest me at all.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

Where do I eve start?! I want to be like everyone else and say the love triangle but I’m a sucker for a book with a well-written love triangle, like I am absolute trash for it. I think the biggest trope that I am tired of seeing is anything involving girl hate. This hasn’t been too big of an issue in books I’ve read recently but when I was in middle/high school almost every book I read involved the token bitch and the too-good girl who hated each other. Why do girls always have to fight/hate each other?! Also tired of Cassie Clare writing incestuous love triangles in literally every series (see rant above). TMI: Clary loves Jace, Clary and Jace become “siblings”, Clary still loves Jace and Simon (kinda?), they find out they aren’t siblings, Clary loves Jace again. In TID Will and Tess love each other and they also love Jem (Will’s “brother”). In Lady Midnight Emma and Julian have feelings for each other but can’t be together. What do they do about it? Emma decides to date his brother Mark..Do we see a pattern here? Come on.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in readingd08d3006783d4499802727880ea27bba

I don’t really have an answer for this one. I want to say the Anna and the French Kiss series but I would like to at least try it at some point. I don’t think I will ever read the Jenny Han books, IDK it’s just not interesting to me.

9. The saying goes “the book is always better than the movie,” but what movie or TV adaptation do you prefer to the book?

I think the Hunger Games has been my favorite book to movie adaptation. I don’t necessarily think it’s better than the books but I think Catching Fire was absolutely amazing. They did an incredible job keeping the plot/details very similar to the books and I think overall the movies were super accurate and enjoyable.

So those are my unpopular bookish opinions! This tag was a lot of fun to do and I can’t wait to read some of your responses! I hope I didn’t massively offend anyone with this post and if any of you have any unpopular bookish opinions I’d love to hear your thoughts!

For this tag I’m going to tag:

Jackie over at toomuchofabooknerd  

Rachel at bookbindngs

Tiana at The Book Raven

And everyone else reading this! I can’t wait to see what you all come up with!

~ Isabella ~

5 thoughts on “Unpopular Bookish Opinions…

  1. Ohhhh, thank you so much for tagging me!!!! ❤ I love these tags even if people sometimes mention some of my fave books/characters! I actually LOVE Peeta (at least I did a few years ago when I last read/watched THG) but I’ll have to reread/watch them again – maybe my opinion changed!!!

    Like

  2. Man, I love seeing unpopular book opinions and you did not disappoint! I totally agree with the disliking the girl hate trope. I’m so over that. It sends a terrible messaging to the girls reading the books that you need to constantly be in competition with other girls. It also makes it seem like it’s cool to not have interest or qualities that are regarded as super feminine.

    I think I need to answer these questions too because I have a lot of unpopular opinions lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. RIGHT!! Enough with the girl hating! Ugh, so annoying. You should definitely do it! Unpopular opinions are the most fun to rant about especially bookish ones!! I can’t wait to read yours!!

      Like

  3. Woah!!! I feel personally attacked in half of these answers. Nah, just kidding! But to be honest, I love contemporary novels including Anna and The French Kiss and Fangirl. Also I love Peeta and Ron but everyone has different opinions and it’s really interesting reading about all of yours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

