[T5W] Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

WOAH.

(thx meryl)

It’s my first Top 5 Wednesday and I AM SUPER EXCITED

If you don’t know, T5W is a weekly book meme hosted by two lovely bloggers over on Goodreads and this week is Top 5 Favorite Science Fiction and Fantasy books!

This is pretty much my all-time favorite genre so this is going to be quite difficult and I’ll try to keep the list down to 5 (NO PROMISES).

  1. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas- I mean is this a surprise to anyone? No, I didn’t think so. Look, I’m not even going to deny it I am 100% feysand trash. I’ve reread this book 3 times since October and I am not ashamed. Rhysand is my soulmate thank you and goodbye. I have an ACOMAF feels playlist on spotify if you want to be emo with me…(https://open.spotify.com/user/1221469316/playlist/7MvuIAEqTwUPUkLLV2KJcj)
  2. A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab- I LOVED the shades of magic series and ACOL was definitely by favorite of the three. While the books are definitely harder to get into than the instant pull of most YA fantasy series, these adult fiction books from Schwab are truly a work of art. Allow me to just insert this lovely thread from her Reddit AMA.. p.s. check out my post about the ACOL release and V.E. Schwab meetup here.
  3. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo- I’m not entirely sure what SOC falls under but I’m placing it in the sci-fi/fantasy genre because I feel it belongs here. This book was so crazy I was on the edge of my seat the entire time reading it. IM OBSESSED WITH KAZ BREKKER. The characters are AMAZING. I usually hate reading multiple perspective books but Leigh is a genius and made it work brilliantly.
  4. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare- Really this whole series, but I am putting Clockwork Princess on this list because I have never cried so hard or been so affected by a book immediately after finishing than I was with this one. SOMETIMES I CRY BECAUSE WILL HERONDALE.  school crying shower finals sobbing GIF                                      (actual footage of me upon finishing said book)
  5. Women of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong- So this is an actual series written from the perspectives of different supernaturals all existing in the same world. It’s also more paranormal romance than fantasy/sci-fi but I wanted to include it in the mix. This series changed so much for me and really shaped who I am as a reader. It was my first introduction to badass female characters who weren’t whiny, weak, and pathetic like the ones I was so used to seeing in YA lit *cough* TWILIGHT *cough*. I read Bitten, which is the first in the series in 8th grade and became obsessed with the supernatural world in the books. After reading this series, my tastes changed and I sought books with strong female leads and even stronger friendships which led me to so many of my favorite paranormal romance series. I was fascinated by Armstrong’s world and it was exactly what I needed at that time in my life. I definitely need to do a re-read of this series soon!

Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 6.20.31 PM

That’s my list- Hope you all enjoy!!

4 thoughts on “[T5W] Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

Leave a Reply

