Amsterdam Book Haul

 

Hello friends, or as they say in Amsterdam Hallo!

This christmas my family and I spent the week in Amsterdam and it was amazing! This was my second time in the city and I wanted to make sure we did everything we couldn’t do the first time. We spent the first night one a wine and cheese boat tour that also gave us a front row seat to the amazing Amsterdam Light Festival! I absolutely loved visiting the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum in Museumplein and my brother and I went ice skating in front of the infamous I AMSTERDAM sign! One of my favorite parts of the trip was our visit to the Anne Frank house on Prinsengracht canal. I read The Diary of Anne Frank when I was in middle school and it sparked my interest in the Holocaust and reading historical fiction. For the next year, all I read was books about the Holocaust and World War II, so visiting the Anne Frank house was extra special for me.

Being the bookworm that I am, I wanted to find the best bookstores in town to do some shopping. One of my goals for the trip was to get a book in Dutch as a unique souvenir and something I couldn’t get in the U.S. I looked some shops up online and asked the people from our hotel if they had any suggestions which led me to a few cool stores including Athenaeum, Boekhandel Vrolijk and Waterstones. I’m pretty sure Waterstones is the European version of our Barnes and Noble because all of their books were in English. But, I was so excited to see the U.K. Publishers edition of all of my favorite books so I just had to pick something up! I have been obsessed with finding different version of books published around the world and luckily Waterstones had two of my favorite, A Court of Mist and Fury and Throne of Glass both by Sarah J. Maas in the U.K. edition! I also picked up an awesome copy of The Penguin Book of Classical Myths by Jenny March. I really loved learning about Greek and Roman mythology in school and I loved reading the Aeneid in my high school Latin class so I figured I’d pick this up to expand my knowledge on the topic!

img_0620The last book I got in Amsterdam was from the very amazing Athenaeum book store in Spuit. I really wanted a Dutch copy of ACOMAF or Throne of Glass but they didn’t have any and most of the YA books they had were in English. They did have a really cool copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in Dutch so I decided to pick that up to add to my HP collection! I’m so excited about the books I picked up in Amsterdam and I can add them to my ever growing January book haul!

 

Leave a Reply

